ISBN Vitro

by Khoury, Jessica
コンディション: 新品
¥2,094
税込価格-無料配送
Khoury, Jessica ISBN Vitro
Khoury, Jessica - ISBN Vitro

この商品が気に入りましたか?みんなにお薦めください!

¥2,094 VAT 含む
1 点在庫あり 1 点在庫あり
配達: 2022年6月6日月曜日 ~ 2022年6月8日水曜日 の間
販売と配送: Dodax

説明

"Magnificent and unsettling." --Marie Lu, New York Times Bestselling author of the Legend Trilogy
A death-defying tropical adventure delivers a frightening message about dabbling with creation, perfect for fans of Orphan Black.
On a remote island in the Pacific, Corpus scientists have taken test tube embryos and given them life. These beings-the Vitros-have knowledge and abilities most humans can only dream of. But they also have one enormous flaw.
Sophie Crue is determined to get to Skin Island and find her mother, a scientist who left Sophie behind years ago. She enlists hunky charter pilot Jim Julien to take her there. But once on the island, Sophie and Jim encounter more than they bargained for, including a charming, brilliant Vitro named Nicholas and an innocent, newly awoken one named Lux.
In a race for their lives, Sophie and Jim are about to discover what happens when science stretches too far beyond its reach.

寄稿者

作家:
Khoury, Jessica

製品詳細

レビュー:
Praise for Vitro:

"With Vitro, Khoury has created something truly magnificent and unsettling. This story haunted me long after its final page." Marie Lu, New York Times Bestselling author of the Legend Trilogy

"Khoury has created a violent, thought-provoking tale that grabs the reader by the throat and doesn't let go." - Booklist

With its intriguing blend of science fiction and mystery-island adventure story, this novel offers a multitude of heart-racing fun. -BCCB

"Khoury's prose is crisp and her primary characters compelling. The scientific mystery...is fascinating and serves as a believable critique of the dangers of scientific research motivated by profit." -PW

With vivid descriptions dripping with tropical heat and courageous characters who find themselves in the midst of mad scientists and dark conspiracies, Vitro is an exciting, action-packed tale that left me breathless! Morgan Rhodes, New York Times Bestselling author of Falling Kingdoms

the pace is fast and action driven. Teens will find this a quick read and will enjoy the references to Khoury s popular debut novel Origin. - VOYA

Origin author Khoury has created a novel that addresses questions about how far experimentation can ethically go and at what point experimental subjects become more human than their creators. Fast-paced chapters keep readers in suspense until the satisfying conclusion. In this refreshing offering, Khoury follows in the footsteps of sci-fi giants Robert Heinlein, Ray Bradbury, and Anne McCaffrey. -SLJ

Well-drawn characters, heart-pounding action, and terrifying technology, VITRO is what science fiction is all about. Jessica Khoury lulls you into a false sense of security with her beautiful writing and vivid descriptions before BAM! dropping you into the middle of a nightmare. You ll be blown away by what she has in store for you on Skin Island. --Jessica Brody, bestselling author of The Unremembered Trilogy
 
This book stressed me out in the best way possible! Khoury fills her plot with raw danger and suspense, leaving me breathless more than once! Anna Banks, New York Times Bestselling author of The Syrena Legacy Series
言語:
英語
対象年齢:
12+
抜粋:

***This excerpt is from an advance uncorrected proof.***


Copyright © 2014  by Jessica Khoury


O N E


SOPHIE


Skin Island, Sophie said for what felt like the hundredth time. I know what I m talking about. It s called Skin Island, and it has to be nearby. Please, can t you just check again?


She d spent the last twenty hours in airports and cramped planes, nearly missing her second connecting flight after getting lost in the Tokyo airport and almost arrested for having a pair of scissors in her backpack, and she felt she would collapse if she took another step. She planted her hands on the travel agent s counter and refused to move until she had an answer. Behind her, the lobby of A.B. Won Pat International Airport basked in the afternoon sunlight that streamed through tall glass windows. Sunburned tourists and TSA agents navigated through the network of cordoned-off aisles and piles of suitcases, oblivious to the turmoil churning in Sophie s stomach. Her flight to Guam had landed an hour earlier, but she still felt as if she were caught in a wave of turbulence.


The travel agent s eyelid twitched. Sophie could tell that the man was nearing the edge of his patience. I ve checked every list, every database I know of, young lady. There simply is no Skin Island. It doesn t exist.


He spoke with a tone of irritated finality, and leaned back in his chair and folded his arms over his chest. Sophie guessed the man was in his fifties from his balding scalp and drooping jawline. He had sweat stains under his arms and smelled of garlic.


I can pay you, I swear. I know it exists! My mom s worked there for years.


You could hand over the key to the national treasury, wouldn t make a bit of difference. It s not there, I m telling you! I m sorry, miss, but I can t produce an island out of thin air.


She drew a deep breath to steady herself, feeling like a torn flag whipped and battered by a hurricane. If you can t help me, then who can? There must be someone local who knows the surrounding area.


I m telling you, there s no


Look . . . She glanced at his name tag. Randy. I did not come halfway around the world just for kicks. Give me something to go on a name, a map, a fricking rental boat so I can go find the place myself. She glanced over the counter, at the desk he was sitting at, and spied a laminated map folded up and tucked between a mug of pens and a stapler. Before he could react, she lunged across the counter and snatched it, dancing backward when he tried to grab it.


The Mariana Islands marched in a gentle crescent from southern Guam to some speck of an island called Farallon de Pajaros on the northern edge of the paper, but none of them was called Skin Island. There were, however, several small, unlabeled islands perhaps one of these was the one she sought.


The map disappeared as the travel agent plucked it away, and she found herself staring at her own empty hands. He had risen from his chair in the effort, and now sat down again, making the chair squeak beneath him. Heaving a sigh, he methodically refolded the map and tucked it back into place.


You might check with the local charter pilots, he said. Might be your island is too small to be listed with me, or goes by another name. Get a taxi, go to the Station it s the bar where they all hang out. If they don t know your island, then it really doesn t exist.


Thank you, she said. They exchanged scowls of mutual annoyance before she turned and walked away.


ページ数:
384
概要:
ISBN Vitro. Book cover type: Paperback, Written by: Jessica Khoury, Number of pages: 384 pages. Width: 139.7 mm, Height: 209.5 mm
メディアタイプ:
ペーパーバック
出版社:
Penguin US

主なデータ

商品タイプ:
ペーパーバック
発売日:
2015年1月22日
製品サイズ:
0.21 x 0.139 x 0.034 m; 0.344 kg
GTIN:
09781595146069
DUIN:
T6RJ0T8Q53G
¥2,094
弊社のWebサイトではCookieを使用して、サービスの効率とユーザーフレンドリーを高めています。 したがって、「Cookieを受け入れる」を選択してください! 詳細については、プライバシーポリシーをご覧ください。